jump to navigation

Long Time No Post and What I did once on Halloween October 31, 2010

Posted by walterknitty in Family, Life Lessons, Year of Me.
trackback

Um, yeah.  That’s one way to look at it I suppose.  It has been quite a long time since anything was posted on this blog.    What have I been doing?  I went to see Lady Gaga with M.  It was my birthday/Christmas present from M and his husband.  At 175$ a pop, I can see why.  I would never have paid that money, not for one night of entertainment.  Normally, I could care less about pop music.  It doesnt to anything for me.  For some reason, I dont feel that way about Lady Gaga.

It was a lot of fun.  I got embarrassingly intoxicated but thankfully, M was there to take care of me.  He runs a good hospital.

I went camping with my neighbours.  We hiked 7 1/2 miles up Eagle Creek Trail, past Tunnel Falls, and camped for 2 nights.  Then we hiked ourselves out.  It was a lot of fun.  Yoga is still a part of the weekly routine.  Twice a week in that hot room allowed me to go the whole way and keep up even though I had never hiked that far with a 20 lb pack.  I’ve never hiked with a pack.  The last few miles at the very end on our way back kicked my butt.  I lagged then but it was well deserved.

As soon as I got home I took a hot bath.  Oh my God, I was filthy.  I washed, rinsed, and immediately emptied then refilled the tub with clean hot water.  My hair had so much grit.  Eck.  I cannot remember the last time it felt so good to be clean.

I saw The Stolen Sweets for my birthday.  That was fun too.

There has been a lot of thinking going on here.  Learning to reconnect with myself and my friends.  Remembering my feminist side, re-experiencing my love of music and novels.

I thought I’d start trying to get back into by telling my very own, rather unconventional, Halloween story.  It’s not at all what you’d expect.

I got married on Halloween in 1998 to Hawkeye.

It’s his favourite holiday.  I figured it’d be the one day he wouldnt forget.

We had already made the decision to move to Oregon but, hadnt told anyone.   I thought his parents might take it better if we were married.  Um, this is not a good reason to get married.  It’s not one I would recommend.

But we got married we did.  It was a small wedding, maybe 70 people.  I did not have a full complement of bridesmaids.  Just a friend and one of my Aunts.  Hawkeye had his brother and friend stand for him.  We got married at a park and for Iowa, that late in the year, we were gifted with good weather.  The park has a lodge where we had both the ceremony and the reception.  We decorated it for fall with hay bails, carved pumpkins, gourds, etc.  It was not fru-fru.  Neither Hawkeye nor I are into the froof.

My Dad, true to his Homer Simpson self, would not let up about when he was going to get some grandkids.  I couldnt take it anymore and said something to his sister who is the matriarch of the family.  She talked to him and he stopped.  Thank God.

I was so terrified at the ceremony I couldnt say anything when we came to having to recite our vows.  I was so terrified, after it was over, I threw up.  After that, I was okay and had a good time.

Although we are no longer married, we are very close.  It’s more of a familial relationship now.  His Mom says he and I are soulmates.  In a lot of ways, he and I grew up together.  I’ll take that any day over hating each other.

 

Comments»

1. justthreadtwiddling - October 31, 2010

I haven’t been camping in a very long time. I have never been hiking with a pack (much less 20lb one). Thankyou for doing those things for me ;) Don’t you just love Oregon. I’ve been here since 1970 and can’t imagine living anywhere else.

2. hawkeye - November 15, 2010

i still remember that as one of the best days of my life :) i just remember the crying about the “hair incident” i felt so bad for you. :(

love you muchly sweety


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

