It’s Been A While

It’s been a while since I last posted, there has and hasnt been much going on.  All the Christmas knitting was finished by the Inauguration which was my goal.  The last gifts were well received.  I even had time to make a batch of cookies as another gift for my favourite bratty boy.  He was surprised, pleased, and smiled.  I cant ask for more than that.

Watching the Inauguration on the big screen in McMinnville was fun.  Listening to OPB or reading a newspaper and hearing/seeing “President Obama” still gives me a feeling of disbelief.  Not exactly disbelief, not awe, but something along the lines of “Did we really do that?  As a country did we really elect the first African-American man as President?  A man who values the hard work ordinary Americans do every day?”  After 8 years of being ruled by a group of men (if you can call Bush and Cheney men) who havent had to work for anything in their lives we now have a President and Vice-President who have had to work hard for what they have achieved in life and were raised in families where parents worked hard for what they had in life.  We are now governed by people who value the dignity of work.  Not just money.  That is a nice change.

Okay, it was fitting to see Dick Cheney come out in his wheelchair and cane.  He looked like Old Man Potter from “It’s A Wonderful Life” George Bush got the send off he deserved when his helecopter flew over the mall and the crowd sang “Nah, nah, nah, hey, hey, hey, goodbye”.

In knitting news I did some work on the Anne Shirley scarf.  Although 500 yards of bright red, lace weight yarn, isnt going anywhere any time soon.  I started on a new hat for me.  Quant from Knitty.  It’s not going to be multi-coloured.  Just blue.  Kind of a smokey, ocean blue.  The yarn is wool/angora and is very soft.  I’ve been meaning to knit a new hat out of it since I bought it over the summer.  The entrelac pattern was a pain in the ass at first but now that I’m getting the hang of it, it’s kind of cool.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Been A While

  1. emmms says:

    I’m glad you’re back, because I just tagged you for a thing!

Leave a Reply

