Not an original idea

Over at house of Samurai I found out it’s National Poetry Month.  This is one of my favourite poems from Sappho.  The translation is not my favourite, but the book with my favourite translation is in storage.  Ugh.  We make do with what we can find on the intertubes.  As the month goes on I think I’ll occasionally post some favourite poems.

Some say an army of horsemen, or infantry,
A fleet of ships is the fairest thing
On the face of the black earth, but I say
It’s what one loves.
This is very easily understandable to do
For each of us. She who far surpassed
The beauty of all, Helen, just went and left
Her noble husband

Sailing she went far away to Troy,
And thought nothing of child or parents dear,
Nothing at all, but ……………….led her off,
…………ing.
…………………….bent…….
……………………….lightly………
…reminds me of Anactoria who is not here
Whose lovely way of walking, and the dark flash
Of her face I would rather see —- than
War-chariots of Lydians and spear-men struggling
On a dusty battlefield.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

