Random Thursday

The Owls sweater is nearly done.  I just have to seam the armpits and block it.  I hate seaming and have been putting it off for almost two weeks.  There are only 4 seams to make, two on each arm.  Doing it shouldnt take more than 10 minutes or so.   Next time I make a sweater like that I’ll just set the pits up for grafting.  The sooner I get it done, the sooner it’ll get blocked, and the sooner I’ll have pictures to show and everyone who gave me advice will be able to see how it turned out.  I’m sure you’re all waiting with baited breath.

Yarn for the Sylvi jacketis being wound.  I’m not sure about the colour.  It’s kind of a bright burgundy and I’m only just starting to get into bright colours.  It’ll be an adventure.  Fortunately I live in Oregon.  You cant count on it being consistently nice until after the 4th of July.  If I get on the stick and knit it I should be able to get some wear out of it before summer.  I can always take it to the beach and I want to be able to wear it when I go to Iowa for my Dad’s 60th birthday in October.  I’m vain and want to show off.

We had a spell of warm weather earlier this week.  Yeah!  It was sunny and 70 some for about 3 days.  What a treat.  It didnt last.  It started raining again last night but, summer is coming.  It was good for the broccoli which just shot up.  Peppers are finally sprouting and the tomatoes are starting to look like tomatoes.  I’ll post some pictures later today. 

Because it’s National Poetry Month I’ll leave you with one of my favourite poems by Emily Dickinson

I died for beauty, but was scarce

Adjusted in the tomb,

When one who died for truth was lain

In an adjoining room

 

He questioned softly why I failed?

“For beauty”, I replied

“And I for truth —the two are one;

We brethren are,” He said

 

And so,as kinsmen met at night,

We talked between the rooms

Until the moss reached our lips

And covered up our names

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

