The gardening experiment

I’ve learned quite a bit from my little garden this summer. 

Peppers seem to grow up.  What I mean is that the end where the flower used to be is pointing almost straight up to the sky.  Cucumber seems to grow about 6 inches a day.  I swear to God that it’s true.  Every day when I come home from work the plant is 6 inches taller than the day before.  Cucumbers, or at least lemon cucumbers, dont grow from a hard stem, the stem is more like a vine.  Green beans need to be picked every day and picking bush beans is a lot easier than picking pole beans.  Marigolds do work as natural slug repellent.

Even though it doesnt seem like they’ll ever get ripe, I’m going to have more tomatoes than I’m going to know what to do with.  They’ll probably get ripe all at once.

Morning glories are very forgiving.

Herbs like to be picked.  Especially basil.  But with herbs, you have to plant a lot to get a lot.

The lesson I’ve learned most clearly?  With pots, you have to have plants that produce a lot in a small space. 

What I mean is that although I love carrots, beets, and broccoli, I’m not going to grow them next year.  In order to get enough carrots and beets to eat more than once you have to have more space than a couple of pots can provide, unless that’s all you want to grow.  One carrot seed will only grow one carrot.  One cucumber seed will grow into a plant that produces lots of cucumbers.  With that one cucumber seed you’re going to get a lot more out of the space (the pot),  money (pot, dirt, fertilizer), and time (pulling off dead leaves, training, etc)  If I had space for raised beds you bet your ass I’d plant a ton of carrots, beets, cabbage, broccoli, etc.

I’ve also learned that long, shallow pots are good for growing flowers but not much else.  I am going to try to grow collards in a couple of my shallow pots now that the beets, carrots, and broccoli have been pulled.

Next summer instead of beets, carrots, and broccoli I’m going to try corn and small zucchini. 

It is pretty cool to see a tiny seed change itself into a large plant that flowers and fruits.  How they know how to do what they do is a mystery.

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The gardening experiment

  1. bells says:

    great lessons! You’re so right about the amount of herbs you need and the same with beets.

    Go with the zucchini – they are a prolific easy grower – I once planted six plants and have since learned that we can happily get by with two!!

Leave a Reply

