Yes, I would like some cheese to go with my whine.

I should be used to hot weather.  Growing up in Iowa means long summers of 98/98 (98 degrees and 98% humidity) nearly every day from June through the beginning of September.

Moving to Oregon has turned me into a complete wuss.  It’s going to be 100 through Wednesday and I, like a lot of people who live here, do not have A/C.  Usually it’s not necessary.  Usually it’s 80-85 with no humidity.  Not this week.  It was almost 100 yesterday and still hot at night.  I ended up falling asleep with an ice pack on my lower back.  If this happened right after I had moved here I wouldnt think anything of it.  100 degrees with no humidity is a lot different than 100 degrees with 98% humidity.  I’ve lived here for 10 years and have become a complete and total wuss.

Something tells me there will be lots of cold baths, cold dry white wine, salad, and gaspacho in my future. 

It’s too hot to knit.  My hands start to sweat and my needles start to get slippery.  I might have a lot of grumpy co-workers since a lot of people here dont have A/C.

This morning the plants all got a good soaking and will probably need more by the time I get home from work.  The tomatoes that were most ripe got picked.  I wasnt sure they’d make it if they didnt.  Maybe, by the end of the week, there will be more ripe tomatoes and some ripe cucumbers.  Who knows, maybe my peppers will finally start to turn red.

If any of you are having cool weather, please send some this way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

